top of page

Incredible Women. Incredible Lifestyle.

KASAA LIFE

Sofya Velikaya & Trofim Veliky for KASAA .jpg

C O V E R   S T O R Y

WITH

SOFYA VELIKAYA & TROFIM VELIKY

ONE MORNING 

Fencing is a beautiful, noble, and romantic sport. It is, however, an ancient martial art that is both beautiful and dangerous. Fencing is a battle of egos, and composure and nobility are required. This festive season we met with absolutely the greatest family, the world, Olympic and country champions in fencing, world renowned brother and sister - Sofya Velikaya and Trofim Veliky. We talked with them about champions' daily rituals, their formula of success, importance of sport education for kids, family, sport signs, and many more.

Photography ALEXANDRA CHERNAVSKAYA MUAH EKATERINA TOKAREVA / Styling MILA PROST 

SOFYA VELIKAYA & TROFIM VELIKIY FOR KASAA COUTURE.jpg

KASAA LIFE: Sofya and Trofim, we are delighted to finally have you in our studio in that festive season. We know that you are busy with public jobs, championships and tv shows. We are wondering how your typical day begins, can you please share with us?

SOFYA VELIKAYA: Every day for me as a mother of two children begins with getting ready for school and kindergarten. It is vital for me to embrace and greet my children. Following that, I either train or do something else. 

TROFIM VELIKY: My day starts at 6:30 a.m., when we all brush our teeth and eat breakfast together before I drop my daughter off for kindergarten. On weekends, though, we have a tradition: while my wife prepares breakfast all week, I treat my girls to my grandmother's secret recipe pancakes.

 

KASAA LIFE: How do you balance your diet plan to be in excellent health and shape with that busy schedule? Is this meal plan distinct from pre-competition nutrition? 

SOFYA VELIKAYAAlthough I aim to eat fewer carbs and more protein and fiber, my diet is well-balanced. I don't use any wheat or sugar. My morning consists of eggs, cereal, smoothies, and occasionally a croissant. The most significant meal of the day is lunch. Dinner options might include green smoothies or a salad with beef. There are no apparent dietary modifications during competition preparation. The day before a competition, I often consume extra carbs, but other than that, nothing changes. I do, however, consume less calories, more water, and light snacks like bananas and baby purees when competing.

TROFIM VELIKY: Food is my weakness. I'm not a believer in right and wrong. Dinner is generally a combination of meat or fish and vegetables, while mornings are always porridge and coffee. Normally, athletes eat more carbohydrate meals on competition days, but I skip breakfast since it is simpler and better for me to execute on an empty stomach. When my energy runs low, I eat carbohydrates to replenish it.

KASAA LIFE: What does Champion’s breakfast look like?

SOFYA VELIKAYA: My favorite dish to make is zucchini pancakes with stracciatella and mildly salted red fish. I create fantastic pancakes in 10 minutes or little croissants for kids. 

TROFIM VELIKY: Porridge with water or coconut milk, almonds and dried fruits, and, of course, coffee.

KASAA LIFE: Any Champion’s  daily sports rituals?

 

SOFYA VELIKAYA: Almost every day I have a different physical activity, always a light dynamic warm-up, and always stretching after a workout. Now I pay special attention to strengthening the internal muscles and ligaments and doing exercises for balance and coordination. I also try to walk every day in the fresh air for an hour to saturate the body with oxygen.

TROFIM VELIKY: I have sports rituals throughout the day; in the morning, I pull myself up, do push-ups, and play catch-up; during the day, I have 2-3 training sessions in physical training and fencing; and in the evening, I may play tennis.

top of page

Incredible Women. Incredible Lifestyle.

KASAA LIFE

Sofya Velikaya & Trofim Veliky for KASAA .jpg

C O V E R   S T O R Y

WITH

SOFYA VELIKAYA & TROFIM VELIKY

ONE MORNING 

Фехтование – красивый, благородный и романтичный вид спорта. Однако это древнее боевое искусство, одновременно красивое и опасное. Фехтование — это битва эго, здесь требуются хладнокровие и благородство. В этот праздничный сезон мы встретились с абсолютно самой большой семьей, чемпионами мира, Олимпийских игр и страны по фехтованию, всемирно известными братом и сестрой - Софьей Великой и Трофимом Великим. Мы поговорили с ними о ежедневных ритуалах чемпионов, их формуле успеха, важности спортивного образования для детей, семье, спортивных приметах и многом другом.

Photography ALEXANDRA CHERNAVSKAYA​ / MUAH  EKATERINA TOKAREVA / Styling MILA PROST 

SOFYA VELIKAYA & TROFIM VELIKIY FOR KASAA COUTURE.jpg

KASAA LIFE: Софья, Трофим, мы рады, что мы наконец-то встретились в нашей студии в эти праздничные дни. Мы знаем, что вы заняты  работой, чемпионатами и телешоу. Нам интересно, как начинается ваш обычный день, не могли бы вы поделиться с нами?

СОФЬЯ: Каждый день для меня как мамы двоих детей начинается с подготовки к школе и детскому саду. Для меня жизненно важно обнять и поприветствовать своих детей. После этого я либо тренируюсь, либо занимаюсь чем-то другим.

 

ТРОФИМ: Мой день начинается в 6:30 утра, когда мы все чистим зубы и вместе завтракаем, прежде чем я отвожу дочку в детский сад. Но по выходным у нас есть традиция: пока жена всю неделю готовит завтрак, я угощаю дочек блинчиками по секретному рецепту моей бабушки.

KASAA LIFE: Как вы совмещаете свой план диеты, чтобы быть в отличном здоровье и форме с таким плотным графиком? Отличается ли этот план питания от предсоревновательного питания?

СОФЬЯ: Хотя я стараюсь есть меньше углеводов и больше белка и клетчатки, моя диета хорошо сбалансирована. Я не использую ни пшеницу, ни сахар. Мое утро состоит из яиц, хлопьев, коктейлей и иногда круассана. Самый важный прием пищи — обед. Варианты ужина могут включать зеленые коктейли или салат с говядиной. Во время подготовки к соревнованиям явных диетических изменений нет. За день до соревнований я часто употребляю дополнительные углеводы, но в остальном ничего не меняется. Однако я потребляю меньше калорий, больше воды и легкие закуски, такие как бананы и детское пюре, когда соревнуюсь.

ТРОФИМ: Еда — моя слабость. Я не верю в правильное и неправильное. Ужин обычно состоит из мяса или рыбы и овощей, а по утрам всегда каша и кофе. Обычно спортсмены едят больше углеводов в дни соревнований, но я пропускаю завтрак, так как мне проще и лучше выполнять упражнения натощак. Когда моя энергия иссякает, я ем углеводы, чтобы пополнить ее.

KASAA LIFE: Как выглядит завтрак Чемпиона?

СОФЬЯ: Мое любимое блюдо — оладьи из кабачков со страчателлой и слабосоленой красной рыбой. Я делаю фантастические блины за 10 минут или маленькие круассаны для детей.

ТРОФИМ: Каша на воде или кокосовом молоке, миндаль и сухофрукты, и, конечно же, кофе.

KASAA LIFE: Какие-то ежедневные спортивные ритуалы?

СОФЬЯ: Почти каждый день у меня разная физическая нагрузка, всегда легкая динамическая разминка, и всегда растяжка после тренировки. Сейчас особое внимание уделяю укреплению внутренних мышц и связок, упражнениям на баланс и координацию. Также стараюсь каждый день гулять на свежем воздухе в течение часа, чтобы насытить организм кислородом.

ТРОФИМ: У меня спортивные ритуалы в течение дня; утром подтягиваюсь, отжимаюсь, играю в догонялки; в течение дня у меня 2-3 тренировки по физкультуре и фехтованию; а вечером я могу поиграть в теннис.